The Book I Want to Write
The Book I HAD to Write
How do you write about yourself and others? with Sari Botton (From the Archives)
5
0:00
-47:30

How do you write about yourself and others? with Sari Botton (From the Archives)

5

Next Wednesday, January 3rd, I am launching season 3 of The Book I Had to Write podcast. I’ll feature a new interview with

, author of the memoir The Part that Burns and also the inspired founder of the “Writing in the Dark” Substack.

Recently I migrated all of THE BOOK I HAD TO WRITE episodes over to Substack. If you’re new either to this newsletter or to the show, you can check out previous episodes here.

Today, I’m featuring one of those episodes, with the author and editor Sari Botton discussing one of the thorniest challenges with publishing memoir and other personal nonfiction: how to write about others in your life.

It’s probably the most popular interview I’ve ever published (10,000 downloads & counting) and among my all-time favorites as well.

I wish you a healthy and creative 2024! —Paul


Don’t Miss a Single Upcoming Episode!

Subscribe on Apple Podcasts

Subscribe on Amazon Music

Subscribe on Spotify

Subscribe on YouTube


About this Episode

In this episode of TBIHTW, originally released last year, I talk with

, author of the memoir-in-essays …And You May Find Yourself and founder of

Back around 2010, Sari started an interview series at The Rumpus called “Conversations with Writers Braver Than Me.”

By definition, memoir and essays inevitably include stories about the people in our lives. But figuring out what the lines are – who we feel we can write about and how to do it – that takes time. And lots of real-world practice.

However, when she herself was first working on memoir, Sari says she felt paralyzed by the fear of hurting those closest to her.

Over the course of a dozen years, Sari grappled extensively with how to give herself permission to write about herself and others. As her 2022 memoir-in-essays, And You May Find Yourself..., started coming together during the pandemic, she landed on a different way to understand this issue.

Writing about herself is really an act of defiance, she says. Women, and particularly women writing memoir, are often derided for first-person writing.

Or, as she writes in the foreword to her book: “I remembered that my voice matters. I’m using it now, to take up space, to say, ‘I was here.’”

In this interview, we also talk about Gen X identity, and about Oldster magazine, which was then a newer project for Sari, and is now an extremely-popular Substack aimed at exploring of how we live inside our aging bodies.

Sari Botton is also the editor of two anthologies, the award-winning Goodbye to All That: Writers on Loving & Leaving NY, as well as the NYT bestselling followup Never Say Goodbye: Writers on their Unshakeable Love for NY.

Check out more of Sari Botton’s work

Working on a memoir? Here are some additional resources for how to handle writing about others

Credits

This episode was compiled by Paul Zakrzewski and produced by Magpie Audio Productions. Theme music  is "The Stone Mansion" by BlueDot Productions.

5 Comments
The Book I Want to Write
The Book I HAD to Write
Welcome to the Book I had to write. This is the show where I feature critically-acclaimed writers, who tell me about the stories they just HAD to get out in the world. Episodes focus on places where that sense of urgency meets resistance. We talk about where authors get stuck—and how they succeed. Whether it’s about mindset, craft, or the changing landscape of publishing—this show covers everything you need to know to start & finish your own writing project.